Left to right: Sandy Shearer, Joy Dever, Ted Goodwin, Elaine Powell, Ann Mohr Osisek, Lea Collins, Janet Jacobs, Norma Wilkinson

About Us

The Central Florida Genealogical Society, Inc. was formed in 1969 in Orlando with thirty-two Charter members. Until 1993, we were known as the Central Florida Genealogical & Historical Society. The definition of Central Florida varies; however, it includes the following counties: Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties.

We are located in the Orlando Florida area to serve genealogists from, and those with ancestors in, the Central Florida area. We hold 113 meetings a year. Both our general and daytime meetings feature a speaker covering a topic of interest to genealogists and local history researchers and we have seven special interest groups on various topics of interest to genealogists. CFGS holds occasional social activities which provide a special time for friendship and fellowship. Several committees, including Education, Hospitality, Membership, Publications, Special Events, Technology and others, provide volunteer opportunities for member involvement. We currently have over 290 members

For more information about how CFGS is organized and run, please see our Current Bylaws

The benefits of joining CFGS are: 

Our members’ only webpages, which contains hundreds of articles of interest to genealogists, including all of our society quaterlies, going back over 45 years.

FREE Genealogy Seminar ($40 value)

Free admittance to the University Club of Winter Park Genealogy Interest Group meetings.

Recognize anyone in this “blast from the past” 2002 photo above? Many  of them you still see at our meetings. From left: Judy Weinberg (standing at podium), unknown, Past President Larry Kirkwood, Past President Lynne Knorr, Paul Enchelmayer (a future president), Betty Jo Stockton, Gladys Paulin, Mary Phillips, Marie Santry, the late Rose Hogan, President Elaine Powell, and Past President Sim Seckbach.

Past Presidents of CFGS

1969–1971        Peola Tucker Stuart+

1971–1972        Alice Henkel Rupe

1972–1973        Marion McKenna Schuneman

1973–1974        Alice Henkel Rupe

1974–1976        Mary Virginia White

1976–1977        Betty Brinsfield Hughson

1977–1978        John Bartram Brouard+

1978–1979        Russell V. Carr+

1979–1980        Mary L. Higdon Swakoff

1980–1981        Dr. George G. Miles+

1981–1982        Julius Warren Ryals+

1982–1984        Bonnie Lee Warman Ward

1984–1986        Betty Brinsfield Hughson

1986–1988        Tanya Cecile Miller+

1988–1990        Ralyne E. Westenhofer

1990–1992        Charlotte E. Kelly Rand+

1992–1994        Ann Mohr Osisek

1994–1994        Marilyn Kangelos+

1995–1997        Sherry S. Mertz

1997–1999        Lynne Knorr

1999–2001        Lawrence R. Kirkwood

2001–2003        Sim Seckbach

2003–2006        Elaine Powell

2007-2008         Paul Enchelmayer

2008-2013         Gregg Gronlund

2013-2017         Sandy Caruthers Shearer

2017-Present    Elaine Powell

+  Deceased


CFGS Officers (2019-2021)

President: Elaine Powell 

1st Vice President:  Ann Mohr Osisek

2nd Vice President: Lea Collins

Secretary: Janet Jacobs

Treasurer: Norma Wilkinson (Membership)

Counselor: Sandy Caruthers Shearer


Joy Dever

Ted Goodwin

Gregg Gronlund


Publications: Betty Jo Stockton 

CFGS webmaster: Linda Watson-Ross